Center For Creative Leadership Presents Ulmer Award to Dr. James G. (Jerry) Hunt

Dr. James G. (Jerry) Hunt is the Paul Whitfield Horn Professor of Management; Professor of Health Organization Management; Director, Institute for Leadership Research, and former department chair of management, Texas Tech University. He received his Master’s and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Illinois, after completing a B.S. (with honors) at Michigan Technological University. He has taught at several U.S. universities and has lived and taught in England and Finland.

Jerry has coauthored a management textbook in organization theory and two organizational behavior books, one in the seventh edition and one in the third. He also has authored or edited three leadership monographs. He founded the Leadership Symposia Series and coedited the eight volumes based on the series. He has presented or published nearly 200 articles, papers, and book chapters. Among his more recent books areLeadership: A New Synthesis (Sage Publications), Strategic Leadership: A Multiorganizational-Level Perspective (Quorum Publisher), and Out-of-the-Box Leadership (JAI Press). He is the former editor of the Journal of Management, and is current editor of Leadership Quarterly. He also edits a scholarly monograph series for JAI Press.

Jerry is former president of the Southern Management Association and Midwest Academy of Management, and chair of the OB Division of the Academy of Management. He has been elected Academy Fellow and a Southern Management Association Fellow.

Recently Jerry received the Distinguished Service Award from the Academy of Management and the Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Distinguished Researcher Award from Texas Tech University for his long-term contributions to management research and scholarship.

The Walter F. Ulmer, Jr. Applied Research Award is named in honor of Walter F. Ulmer, Jr., retired president, for his contributions to CCL and the leadership field, to demonstrate CCL’s commitment to applied research, and to build connections with other professionals whose work and commitments are congruent with CCL’s. An internal committee (Dave Altman and John Ryan) determines the winner. He or she receives $1,500 and a trip to the Center to attend the Research Awards Event.